The De Soto Building was built in 1916 as the De Soto Automotive Company’s headquarters. LRS Architects designed improvements to the core and shell of the building, upgrading the seismic conditions to current code standards, adding entry canopies, repainting the exterior brickwork and creating a rooftop deck area. LRS also designed the main lobby, stair and corridor areas shared by the first and second floor tenants. The ground floor features large storefront windows which showcase the artwork for several Portland art galleries.
LRS offices occupy the third floor and fourth floors providing a consolidated home for the firm. Extensive sustainable measures, including remilling and reuse of the heavy timbers, helped the building achieve a modern interior with material references to the past. LRS was instrumental in the building receiving Historic Landmark status.